MIRZA GHALIB

On this day, Ghalib Mirza Asadullah Khan would have been 220 years old. He is known as one of the finest philosopher, poet, and writer of the Mogul empire. He has this unique aura in all of his poetry that made people fall in love in the first read. Maybe this is the reason he is still alive in the hearts of millions today.

  1. You don’t know how to love, I don’t know anything else but love,
    There are two ways to spend one’s life, Ghalib, one you don’t know about, one I don’t know about.
  2. Whoever can’t see the whole in every part plays at blind man’s bluff. A wise man tastes the entire Tigris in every sip. 
  3. Let me drink wine in the mosque or tell me a place where God isn’t there.
  4. The object of my worship lies beyond perceptions reach; for men who see, the Ka’ba is a compass, nothing more.
  5. Love made me believe that my lover is God himself, I got back to my senses when my lover said; God does not belong to any one person.
  6. Love demands patience but lust is relentless, what to do with the heart till it bleeds to death!
  7. You are mystical, Ghalib, and, also, you speak beautifully. Are you a saint, or just drunk as usual?
  8. I have seen almost all the possible Troubles in my life; the last one that I have to face is the Death.
  9. How will you face Mecca, Ghalib When shame doesn’t come to you.
  10. These problems of mysticism! This discourse of yours, Ghalib! We would consider you a saint- if you weren’t a wine-drinker

 

 

Leave a comment